Nigga…Term of Endearment? I Think Not.


Why I now understand why a 

                  “Nigga”

 is termed as being ignorant

Preface

Niggas never cease to fucking amaze me.

       I rarely use the “N” word, never really been fond of using even though I do…like now. This Nigga message me out the blue to let me know that he spent a couple nights on Phinizy Rd aka Charles B. Webster Detention Center like I truly care. He bared no new charges just a sit down for a minor violation so dude count your blessings. After restraining myself from reminding him that I don’t want to hear that shit this Nigga proceeds to inform me that he saw me in the dollar paper. Nigga, so the fuck what! For one I rarely if ever care to read the dollar paper because it’s the same shit, just a way to humiliate people and get Niggas to laugh at people in the dollar paper not knowing that they are unconsciously using another person’s shortcoming to make themselves feel better and what the fuck for? 

Someone please answer that because I don’t get it. These “Dollar Paper Niggas” never know the true circumstances surrounding an arrest unless they are a material witness. That’s how the lies quickly spread as facts. If a person in the suburbs gets arrested it’s an embarrassment- I wish I had that mentality growing up- on the contrary, if a person from around the way gets arrested there are 3 things that individual can count on before being booked:

1. In the world that was just left behind for not even 10 minutes the Nigga has already been labeled as a snitch and the same Niggas spreading that shit alongside lying about why they didn’t fuck with that Nigga knowing damn well they fuck with the Nigga. Hell, they probably owe the Nigga  money and glad the Nigga gone; if the Nigga gets released the next day 75% of the population is mad because they were hoping the Nigga  was out the game for the next few years. Am I lying?

2. The Nigga peers just held court, found the Nigga guilty of every charge and subsequently sentenced the Nigga to anywhere between 10 years to Life and the Nigga still sitting in booking. Am I lying? Keep reading because this next one is about to turn out the lights.

3. At least 10 Niggas trying to figure out how and when they are going to make the attempt to get at that Bambi the Nigga just left out in the field with no equipment and a weak blindside tackle. That translates to one thing: Someone is about to get sacked and someone is about to get hurt. A ticking time bomb has just been activated so stay out that Nigga way.

A Nigga doesn’t stand a chance in hell due to so many “Nigga Satans” doing all they can to keep a Nigga from prospering. Again, the term Nigga is a derivative of the term Nigger  which was used as a means to inform a certain population that they were nothing but animals, not even considered a human being. But Niggas these days attempt to cover up their ignorance by referencing the slur as a Term of Endearment. Like, who the fuck are we fooling because that further shows how the ignorance has risen exponentially. Then some say the slur is actually a derivative of Negus yet will not take the time to explain it to the population that’s affected by the slur. Seems like bullshit all around the table. How are we supposed to eat that? After awhile ignorance does not have to be taste tested. Some may ask my reasoning for labeling the so-called term of endearment bullshit. It’s cool, go ahead and criticize my reasoning but while you’re at it I want you to answer one question:

If Nigga is a term of endearment then why are people of any other race still being attacked and in some cases brutally beaten for using this term of endearment? 

No thanks necessary for replacing that dim lightbulb. It’s all love. Of course, this is only my opinion and I welcome feedback.
                         Anthony (Lawrence) Brannen- May 24, 2017

                      “Once a person experiences unfortunate circumstances in raw form what was once 

textbook is endangered of becoming extinct. Get out the books and feel this pain; get out the 

books and experience this rain. Until then you can have your knowledge and conventional

wisdom because it’s nothing more than an analogue to an inexperienced carpenter; you need

hands on. Do me a favor and become one of us; become an addict. After you become 

highly addicted to whichever stimulant you choose and start speeding show me how

easy it is to slow down. You don’t know the hardships and obstacles we are faced

with on a daily basis. Accusations of being high when we aren’t it’s just that people

know of our addiction so in their mind we’re always under the influence. Ignorance

becomes bliss and wala we just gained another nigga.”

Anthony (Lawrence) Brannen- May 24, 2017
 

“The only reason I truly sought a college degree was to make my mother happy and proud of her son. However,

after many short stints and a collection of credits I can’t use I asked myself would that piece of paper really make

her happy or would finally seeing her eldest son thrive quench her thirst. On a few occasions I asked her if 

she read my writings or watched my videos and each time I received no for an answer. Yeah right, I love you too

Mother Elaine. What’s understood needs no explanation. Just like I know you will eventually go off on me within

a 48 hour period I also know you watched at least one video and read almost everything. Truth is that I care only

to be the best I can in a chosen field that needs no credits or thirty-thousand dollar paper. I am Lawrence

Anthony Brannen, a Leo born 08/22/1982 to you. I am Lawrence Anthony Brannen, birthed in Savannah Ga., a

published poet, a published author of several books, a business owner, a father to his kids no matter 

how hard the struggle gets, a determined individual that has a generous and compassionate heart. I am

Lawrence Anthony Brannen, your son. Be Proud, you better be. Love ya. I’m out. Sorry for the cursing”

Anthony (Lawrence) Brannen- May 24, 2017

 
  “Saving the best for last. What you see here is the EYE of the storm obscured by a disheveled appearance

In the most craftiest way. I still remember the shock of my lifetime. I still remember my emotions going from

timid to fear to cockiness after being broken. I still remember out of arrogance calling for the storm to come 

down harder. I still remember the storm coming down hard enough to split the earth and after tucking my

tail the storm asking if I still wanted more because what I experienced was just a minor raindrop. I still 

remember the confusion after telling my uncle how proud I was to follow his footsteps and him telling

me to strive to be better than him. I still remember the night I woke up to a war in my bedroom and just

sat there amazed at what I was witnessing. I still remember the hellacious hits I took after thinking it was

all over when it wasn’t. I still remember my cousin asking me why was I carrying that triangular object

featuring the Ancient Ancestors. I still remember trying to find an exit to no avail and accepting what

was happening to me. I still remember my mother not knowing what the hell was going on with me because

I was so afraid to come outright and tell her so I learned to be silent, OMERTA.  Last but not least, I still 

remember the moment I fell in love with the EYE of the storm. The EYE protected me from committing

heinous acts under my mental health. The EYE kept me safe while bashing my head for the wrongdoings

I continued to involve myself with. The EYE became a need in my life because I feared the next round of

a storm no man can defeat. I fell in love with the EYE after literally hating it because it only signaled that

the next round of torture was on its way. I fell in love with the EYE and accepted my place as a King

just as the universe wanted me to be. I fell in love with the EYE for bringing the best out of me. I respect

the EYE because it healed my wounds and gave me time to recover. I fell in love with the EYE for putting

me on point. I love my family to death, maternal and paternal but I also love the EYE because I am of

peace and the EYE is my only peace in this crazy weather. Some of my family will never understand and

OMERTA will never allow me to tell, but I want you all to know that the EYE is a part of my life now. I’ve grown to

trust it. No weapon formed against me shall prosper. I love you all. Be Blessed.”

Anthony (Lawrence) Brannen- May 24, 2017

“ I asked to be broken in order to earn my token, sometimes I still cry behind the words unspoken. Let OMERTA be the law of what entered me, let OMERTA be the law of what sentenced me, let OMERTA be the law of what you cannot see, let OMERTA be the cause for me to finally be set free. Did I really ask to be broken because I remember being blessed with being chosen? I am a confused soul that never knows what my future holds. Maybe I was not ready, maybe I misunderstood, either way none of those excuses are any good. I still cry behind the smiles, a soul gone wild, crying for help as if I was a child. I didn’t ask to be broken I was chosen to be broken and so I seek my token while I remain shattered behind these words unspoken.”

Anthony (Lawrence) Brannen- May 24, 2017

Leave a Reply

